Devi Siddhidatri is the ninth form of Navdurga, and she is worshipped on the ninth or final day of Navratri Pooja. ‘Siddhi’ means perfection in Sanskrit, and the divine Deity is revered for seeking all types of Siddhi.

The grace of Devi Siddhidatri can put an end to greed and help her devotees control and satisfy their desires. One side of Lord Shiva’s body is thought to be that of Goddess Siddhidatri.

As a result, he is also known as Ardhanarishwar. Lord Shiva attained all the siddhis by worshipping this Goddess, according to Vedic scriptures. Maa Siddhidatri is known as the perfection giver. Her devotees receive wisdom and spiritual knowledge from her. Demons revere Maa Siddhidatri, who is surrounded by all Gods.

History & Origin

Maa Siddhidatri’s story begins just before our universe was nothing more than a vast void. There was no sign of life, and it was pitch black. Goddess Kushmanda created the universe with the radiance of her smile.

Maa Kushmanda then created the Trimurti of Lord Brahma, the energy of creation, Lord Vishnu, the energy of sustenance, and Lord Shiva, the energy of destruction. After they were created, Lord Shiva requested that Maa Kushmanda bestow perfection on him.

As a result, Maa Kushmanda formed another goddess who bestowed 18 types of perfection on Lord Shiva. Lord Krishna described the Ashta Siddhi (8 primary forms of perfection) as well as 10 secondary forms of perfection.

Mata Siddhidatri

The goddess Maa Siddhidatri – the creator of perfection – bestowed these perfections on Lord Shiva. Lord Bramha was now given the task of creating the rest of the Universe.

Lord Brahma, on the other hand, discovered this task extremely difficult because he requested a man and a woman for creation. He prayed to Maa Siddhidatri and asked for her help. When Maa Siddhidatri heard Lord Brahma’s request, she transformed half of Lord Shiva’s body into that of a woman.

As a result, Lord Shiva is known as Ardhanarishwar (Ardh – half, Nari – woman, Ishwar – refers to Lord Shiva). Lord Brahma, like the rest of the Universe, was now capable of creating living beings. As a result, Maa Siddhidatri aided Lord Brahma in his creation.

Siddhidatri Mantra

या देवी सर्वभू‍तेषु माँ सिद्धिदात्री रूपेण संस्थिता।
नमस्तस्यै नमस्तस्यै नमस्तस्यै नमो नमः।


Devi Siddhidatri is depicted wearing a red saree and having a golden complexion. She is seated on a pink lotus flower and has four arms. She holds a mace in her upper right hand and a chakra in her lower hand (discus). In her upper and lower left hands, She keeps a lotus and a white conch in her upper and lower left hands. Her procession consists of lions.


Siddhidatri Durga Temple is located in Varanasi at K.60/29, Sidhamata Gali.

Local transportation is available for devotees’ convenience. The temple is open for worship from 7:00 a.m. to 10:00 a.m. and 4:00 p.m. to 8:00 p.m. During Navratri, the hours are 05.00 a.m. to 10.00 a.m. and 04.00 p.m. to 10.00 p.m. Other temples are also located at Devpahari in Chhattisgarh, Satna in Madhya Pradesh, and Sagar in Madhya Pradesh.

Frequently Asked Question

She shares her knowledge and assists you in achieving your objectives. As a result, the colour purple has come to represent ambition and power.

On this day, the devi is given coconut, kheer, naivedya, and panchamrit. Devotees also offer poori, halwa, and kale chane to the devi while performing Kanya Pujan, which is then distributed among the kanjak along with gifts.

According to nutritionists, the combination of poori, halwa, and chana provides all essential nutrients to the human body, which aids the digestive system in balancing the mechanism after consuming a sattvic diet for 7-8 days.

Durga is four-armed and seated on a lotus in this form. She is holding a lotus, a mace, a Chakra, and a shankha. Durga, in this form, removes ignorance and provides knowledge to realise that or Brahman.Surrounding her and worshipping her are Siddhas, Gandharvas, Yakshas, Devas (Gods), and Asura (Demons). The Siddhi she offers is the realisation that she is the only one who exists. She is the empress of all accomplishments and perfections.

There are eight major Siddhis, according to Markandaya Purana: Anima, Mahima, Garima, Laghima, Prapti, Prakamya, Ishitva, and Vashitva. According to the Bramavaivart Purana, there are 18 different types of achievements, including Anima, Mahima, Garima, Laghima, Prapti,Prakamya,Ishitva,Vashitva,Sarvakaamaal,Saadhita,Sarvagynatva,Durshravana,Parkaayapraveshan,Vakasiddhi, Kalpavrushatva, Shristi.


Champa is offered to Maa Siddhidatri.

One side of Lord Shiva's body is thought to be that of Goddess Siddhidatri. As a result, he is also known as Ardhanarishwar.

quote left solid

With the Blessings of Maa Siddhidatri, we’ve delivered this article in the best form and hope that it helped you! If there are any discrepancies you can mention them in the comment section. May Maa Siddhidatri shower all the blessings and strength on you!quote right solid


Image Source: Google

5/5 - (2 votes)

Leave a Reply